CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE | LEGACY OF ORISHA #1

34728667Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Published by Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
Genre: Fantasy, YA
For Fans of: Avatar the Last Airbender, The Conqueror’s Saga, and, Throne of Glass
My Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. 

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. 

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.


Continue reading

SING NO EVIL – J.P AHONEN AND K.P ALARE

20702062Sing No Evil by J.P Ahonen and K.P Alare
Published by Harry N. Abrams
Genres: Graphic novels, Music, Fantasy, Horror, Fiction
For Fans of: Incredible art, stories that take you by surprise.
My Rating: 5 stars out of 5

Twenty-something guitarist Aksel stutters when he sings, and the latest reviews say he has the voice of a crow with throat plague. That’s not a compliment, even for the avant-garde music his band Perkeros plays. Aksel is having a hard time keeping the band together, stopping his girlfriend from kicking him out, and not getting eaten by his drummer (who happens to be a cranky brown bear). There are also the rival bands that Perkeros find themselves in battle with to save the city from supernatural forces set loose by ancient music. The key to it all could be in the music Aksel hears in his dreams—if it doesn’t drive him mad first. With a visual soundtrack that blasts off the page, Sing No Evil is a wild ride through otherworldly dangers and the power of pure rock’n’roll.


Continue reading

THE MINIATURIST – JESSIE BURTON

51gELSlkHnL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton
Publisher: Ecoo Press
Ratings: 2.5/5
Genre: Fiction, Historical fiction, Mystery
Post Book Thoughts: Ok look! I really liked this book but what the hell!!

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam–a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion–a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

“There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .”

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office–leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist–an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand–and fear–the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?


Continue reading

THE GIRL IN THE TOWER | THE WINTERNIGHT TRILOGY #2

34050917The Girl In The Tower by Katherine Arden
Published by Del Rey
Genres: Fantasy, Historical Fiction, YA
For fans of: Uprooted, Joan of Arc, Sweeping dark fantasy that isn’t afraid to take its time.
My Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5

The magical adventure begun in The Bear and the Nightingalecontinues as brave Vasya, now a young woman, is forced to choose between marriage or life in a convent and instead flees her home—but soon finds herself called upon to help defend the city of Moscow when it comes under siege.

Orphaned and cast out as a witch by her village, Vasya’s options are few: resign herself to life in a convent, or allow her older sister to make her a match with a Moscovite prince. Both doom her to life in a tower, cut off from the vast world she longs to explore. So instead she chooses adventure, disguising herself as a boy and riding her horse into the woods. When a battle with some bandits who have been terrorizing the countryside earns her the admiration of the Grand Prince of Moscow, she must carefully guard the secret of her gender to remain in his good graces—even as she realizes his kingdom is under threat from mysterious forces only she will be able to stop.


Continue reading

WARM BODIES – ISAAC MARION

Warm_bodies_book_coverWarm Bodies by Isaac Marion
Publisher: Atria
Ratings: 3/5
Genre: Science Fiction, Apocalyptic, Adult Fiction
Post Book Thoughts: …That was better than I expected it to be…

R is a young man with an existential crisis–he is a zombie. He shuffles through an America destroyed by war, social collapse, and the mindless hunger of his undead comrades, but he craves something more than blood and brains. He can speak just a few grunted syllables, but his inner life is deep, full of wonder and longing. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse. Just dreams.

After experiencing a teenage boy’s memories while consuming his brain, R makes an unexpected choice that begins a tense, awkward, and strangely sweet relationship with the victim’s human girlfriend. Julie is a burst of vibrant color in the otherwise dreary and gray landscape that R lives in. His decision to protect her will transform not only R, but his fellow Dead, and perhaps their whole lifeless world…

Scary, funny, and surprisingly poignant, Warm Bodies is about being alive, being dead and the blurry line in between.


Continue reading

REVIVAL – STEPHEN KING

Revival - Stephen KingRevival by Stephen King
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Ratings: 3.5/5
Genre: Horror, Fiction, Thriller
Post Book Thoughts: Holy heavens Mr. King could you just chill for a second!? (don’t really chill then we wouldn’t get books like this.. but still!!) What do they put in your water?!

In a small New England town, in the early 60s, a shadow falls over a small boy playing with his toy soldier’s. Jamie Morton looks up to see a striking man, the new minister. Charles Jacobs, along with his beautiful wife, will transform the local church. The men and boys are all a bit in love with Mrs Jacobs; the women and girls – including Jamie’s mother and beloved sister – feel the same about Reverend Jacobs. With Jamie, the Reverend shares a deeper bond, based on their fascination with simple experiments in electricity.

Then tragedy strikes the Jacobs family; the preacher curses God, mocking all religious belief, and is banished from the shocked town.

Jamie has demons of his own. In his mid-thirties, he is living a nomadic lifestyle of bar-band rock and roll. Addicted to heroin, stranded, desperate, he sees Jacob again – a showman on stage, creating dazzling ‘portraits in lighting’ – and their meeting has profound consequences for both men. Their bond becomes a pact beyond even the Devil’s devising, and Jamie discovers that revival has many meanings. Because for every cure there is a price…


Warning: Spoilers ahead!!

Proceed with caution! (Hahhaha caution… that’s funny… It’s Stephen King! there is no safety!)

Continue reading

DEEP WATER – LU HERSEY

24389572Deep Water by Lu Hersey
Published by Usborne
Genres: Middle grade, Fantasy, Mythology, Folklore
For fans of: Song of the Sea, Since You’ve Been Gone, Call of Cthulhu Dark Corners of The Earth, any kind of “there’s something wrong with this town” book
My rating: 3 stars out of 5

When her mum vanishes, Danni moves to a tiny Cornish fishing village with Dad – where the locals treat her like a monster. As the village’s dark, disturbing past bubbles to the surface, Danni discovers that she’s not who – or what – she thought she was. And the only way to save her family from a bitter curse is to embrace her incredible new gift.


Continue reading

THROUGH THE WOODS – EMILY CARROLL

18659623Into The Woods by Emily Carroll
Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Genres: Graphic novel, YA, Horror, Fantasy
For Fans of: Beautifully illustrated horror novels, short spoopy stories that’ll stick with you
My Rating: 4 stars out of 5

‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…


Continue reading